top of page

Your Substance

"Honor the LORD with your substance and with the first fruits of all your produce; then your barns will be filled with plenty and your vats will be bursting with wine."

(Proverbs 3:9-10)

"Honor the LORD with your substance," says the writer of Proverbs. The very next phrase is "and with the first suits of all your produce." This verse is often used when teaching about 'tithing,' or giving 10% of your income to God. In the Old Testament, farmers were encouraged to give the first of their crops and produce to the Lord. But that's not what I want to reflect on today.

Honor the LORD with your substance. Such ah interesting phrase. Substance is the stuff you're made of. So, what makes you tick? How has God wired you? What are you good at or excited about or passionate for? Whatever it is that makes you "you," USE THAT TO HONOR GOD!

I've known for most of my life that I enjoy being around people. I'm drawn to helping others. In high school, I wanted to be a lawyer ("The world needs more Christian lawyers," my Grandmother White told me one day.) Then after graduation, I felt God calling me into the ministry.

In college, I was a theater major. I love theatrics, storytelling, creativity, etc. I've been able to incorporate those elements of my life into my ministry (in sermons, with the you, and especially with children's ministry).

I've always loved sports. More recently I've taken up photography as a hobby. Both are very much a part of who I am today. They are my substance, too. So I try to use both my love of sports and my photography in my ministry.

Yes, giving generously of your finances (10%) to God is important. But anyone can give money. That's relatively easy. The more life-altering aspect of Proverbs 3:9 might very well be honor God with your 'substance.'

How might YOU do that day?

RECENT POST
bottom of page