top of page

Underneath it all

"When the queen of Sheba heard of the fame fo Solomon (fame due to the name of the LORD), she came to test him with hard questions."

(1 Kings 10:1)

By and large, life has been good. I've grown up in a loving family w here my parents encouraged me to explore a lot of different interests. I had good teachers and public schools to attend (in addition to college & seminary). I was blessed to be able to play a lot of sports (individual and teams), learned a ton of life lessons from them, and never really embarrassed myself while doing it. I've had friends who have strengthened me as a person at every stage in my life. I've grown up in great churches where my faith was nurtured & empowered by so many people. I am married to an amazing human being who helps be be all that God's called me to b e. I've been blessed with two wonderful children who each have formed their own way in life, and continue to stay close and connected. In short, life has been good.

It would be easy to let this "go to my head." It would be understandable to think to myself, "Self... what an AMAZING job you've done! You're all that and a bag of chips!" And yet, I would be mistaken. Oh, I have done well in life. But it's not due to me. It's due to God's grace, power, and influence in my life. And from a relatively young age I've recognized this.

In the Old Testament book of 1 Kings, King Solomon seems to lead a charmed life. He wasn't the oldest of David's sons... yet succeeded him as king. He combined his power (political clout) and good looks to secure 1,000 significant women in his life (700 wives and 300 concubines). He amassed an incredible amount of wealth. AND he was known world-wide for his wisdom.

A traveling dignitary, the Queen of Sheba, came to check out the king and all his splendor. The author of 1 Kings makes an insightful comment at the start... it is said that Solomon's fame was "due to the name of the LORD." (Boom. Right there. For all to see.) I imagine it was a challenge for Solomon to keep remembering that, with all the privileges and advantages afforded him. But there it was, nonetheless.

Undoubtedly, the same can be said for me. The blessings, favor, and privilege I have received over the course of my life come by the grace of God. I forget that at my peril. May I constantly be aware of God's gracious hand in my life.

RECENT POST
bottom of page