top of page

Trust vs. Proof

"Zechariah said to the angel, 'How will I know that this is so? For I am an old man, and my wife is getting on in years.' The angel replied, 'I am Gabriel. I stand in the presence of God, and I have been sent to speak to you and to bring you this good news.'"

(Luke 1:18-19)

Two angelic visits. Two divine revelations. Two questions. Two very different responses.

First, Gabriel the angel comes to the old priest Zechariah. He's serving the LORD in the temple. He's told his barren wife will conceive and their son will be used by God to bring many back to the LORD. Then Gabriel heads over to a young girl named Mary (probably 13-14 years old at that time!). He tells her she will conceive and give birth to a child who will be the Savior of the World.

Both pieces of news are shocking. Both quite inspiriting. Both are greeted with a question. Zechariah asks, 'How will I know that this is so?' He then cites his age (and his wife's age) as a hindrance. Mary asks, 'How can this be, since I'm a virgin?' At first glance, these questions seem very similar... but are they?

Zechariah's question is 'How will I know that it is so?' It looks as though he's asking for proof. He wants to be assured that what the angel said will actually happen.

Mary, on the other hand, asks, 'How can this be?' She's not asking for proof or reassurance... she's just asking a clarifying question: How's that going to work? It's a subtle, but important, difference.

At first, I thought I was going to journal about how unfair it was that Zechariah got scolded (and punished!) for his question, but Mary didn't. But upon further review, I see why now. God is fine with our questions... but not so excited about having to 'prove' his promises to us. Can't we, like Mary, simply trust and see how things work out... or must we constantly ask God for proof? Proof merely to reassure ourselves. Sometimes we won't have that reassurance... thats why they call it 'faith'!

As I lead Palmdale UMC forward as a church, the property on 25th Street looms large. I trust that God has plans for it. But proof that it will happen? Nope. I won't ask for that. I'll simply trust God.

RECENT POST
bottom of page